World No. 5 Karolína Plíšková didn’t take her loss Wednesday at the Italian Open too well. In fact, during the close second-round loss, one close call wouldn’t go her way. Therefore, she would respond by literally breaking a hole in the umpire’s chair.
— The Overrule (@theoverrule) May 16, 2018
This is the play in question, by the way. But for the record, it’s not even close. Her shot lands in.
— SuperTennis TV (@SuperTennisTv) May 16, 2018
Therefore, frustration would mount. But can you really blame her? Absolutely not. Good on Plíšková for not taking frustrations out on her opponent, but rather going after the umpire. Does this mean we need Hawk-eye tech for clay surfaces?